Ontario Financial Watchdog Limits Investments in Altcoins
Main page News, Canada, Crypto Market, Regulations

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) and the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) have introduced new limits for a few Canadian provinces on the new amount of altcoins investors can buy.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel to get daily short digests about events that shape the crypto world

Newton and Bitbuy were the first Canadian crypto platforms to implement the limitations, according to their updated FAQs. Newton highlights that the limits do not apply to those, who live in British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, or Quebec.

And yet, the amount of provinces, which are required to comply with the new rules is significant and includes among others Ontarion, Saskatchewan, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.

Canadian Regulators Probe Celsius Over Its Creditors: Report

According to the update, those investors who live in areas that follow the new rules cannot invest more than C$30,000 in altcoins in a year. These limits reset on an annual basis. This limit does not apply though to bitcoin (BTC), ether (ETH), bitcoin cash (BCH) and litecoin (LTC).

Access more than 50 of the world's financial markets directly from your EXANTE account – including NASDAQ, London Stock Exchange and Tokyo Stock Exchange

Read also:
Please describe the error